How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

General discussion about tracking, help and support.
JohnLeagsdurg
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:45 pm

How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby JohnLeagsdurg » Fri Nov 27, 2015 4:53 pm

For my next cover i'd need to ask this:
How can you cover old arcade video game music that can't be splitted in seperate channel files?

User avatar
Stratelier
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby Stratelier » Fri Nov 27, 2015 5:02 pm

I'm lost. Do you have an example of such a song?

User avatar
ImATrackMan
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 6:05 am
Location: Plantation, FL, US
Contact:

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby ImATrackMan » Fri Nov 27, 2015 6:38 pm

My best guess is "how do you cover arcade tunes where you can't separate the individual sound channels?"
My best answer is "very carefully" (this is serious, pay attention as hard as you can to the notes that are playing).
Slowly working on a thing called "FaMIGA".
____________________________________________________
Youtube
Twitter (Stay off my lawn, kids)
Soundcloud.
I do all hardware recordings including Sunsoft5B, FDS, and MULTICHIP !
>quscx uvngw bebxm xqdyl<

User avatar
Xyz
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby Xyz » Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:25 am

It may not be required.
Many old game music have their own file formats, such as .spc for SNES and .gbs for Gameboy. And there are many specialty players which can mute individual channels.

Many arcade games are getting converted into the .vgm filetype. And playing that format in VGMPlay you can mute channels. Just edit VGMPlay's .ini file.

Even if there is no .vgm file yet for your game, there are tools available so you can make a .vgm yourself
>:( Fuck you hentai boy i hate you squid anus

User avatar
Ares64
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 11:08 am
Location: Hell
Contact:

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby Ares64 » Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:38 am

by listening to the song

JohnLeagsdurg
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:45 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby JohnLeagsdurg » Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:30 pm

Xyz wrote:It may not be required.
Many old game music have their own file formats, such as .spc for SNES and .gbs for Gameboy. And there are many specialty players which can mute individual channels.

Many arcade games are getting converted into the .vgm filetype. And playing that format in VGMPlay you can mute channels. Just edit VGMPlay's .ini file.

Even if there is no .vgm file yet for your game, there are tools available so you can make a .vgm yourself


This is kindly the best way you gave to me, but how do i find to mute the channels in the ini?
I got some capcom arcade game that uses only the YM2203 chip but i can't find how to disable a channel of that chip. :|

User avatar
Xyz
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby Xyz » Sat Nov 28, 2015 2:40 pm

Here is an example of muting the first two channels in my .ini. What is shown is the section after YM2203.

Code: Select all

[YM2203]
Disabled = False
; AY/YM2149 EmulatorType: 0 - EMU2149, 1 - MAME
EmulatorType = 0x00
; disable the AY8910-part to speed up loading
DisableAY = False
; Channels: 3 (0-2)
MuteCh0 = True
MuteCh1 = True
MuteCh2 = False
>:( Fuck you hentai boy i hate you squid anus

JohnLeagsdurg
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:45 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby JohnLeagsdurg » Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:09 pm

Xyz wrote:Here is an example of muting the first two channels in my .ini. What is shown is the section after YM2203.

Code: Select all

[YM2203]
Disabled = False
; AY/YM2149 EmulatorType: 0 - EMU2149, 1 - MAME
EmulatorType = 0x00
; disable the AY8910-part to speed up loading
DisableAY = False
; Channels: 3 (0-2)
MuteCh0 = True
MuteCh1 = True
MuteCh2 = False


I have a foobar2000 plugin for it for luck and i can do that.
But the other problem i have now is i don't know how to export it in separate channel files :(

User avatar
Xyz
Posts: 297
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 4:36 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby Xyz » Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:12 pm

There is a line in the .ini that says
"; Log Sound to Wave: 0 - no logging, 1 - log only, 2 - play and log
LogSound = 0"

Set the value to 1 or 2.
>:( Fuck you hentai boy i hate you squid anus

JohnLeagsdurg
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:45 pm

Re: How can you cover video game music without need of splitted channels?

Postby JohnLeagsdurg » Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:19 pm

Xyz wrote:There is a line in the .ini that says
"; Log Sound to Wave: 0 - no logging, 1 - log only, 2 - play and log
LogSound = 0"

Set the value to 1 or 2.


Do i have to hear the entire song? :|
EDIT: Nevermind, this kind of solved, thanks. ;)


Return to “General Talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest