only 63 DMCs allowed?

General discussion about tracking, help and support.
Cubby Crazes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:41 am

only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby Cubby Crazes » Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:56 am

:? :? :? i am making a game that has alot of talking in the cutscenes and i kinda need 2 more DMCs, then I am done.:lol: :roll:

User avatar
TheMudkipMaster12
Posts: 320
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:26 am
Location: :uoıʇɐɔoן
Contact:

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby TheMudkipMaster12 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:46 am

Why are you using DPCM samples for cut scene dialogue
Yeah, FT supports 64 DPCM samples. If you need more space, try lowering the quality (pitch and speed) for the samples to be longer, but sound a little bit worse.
"It's funny because cool, means cold." -Savestate, Feb. 17, 2016

HI IM KIPPTUNE AND THIS IS MY OLD ACCOUNT LOL

Cubby Crazes
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:41 am

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby Cubby Crazes » Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:19 pm

Yeah, I kinda knew that. It sounds horrible if it isn't on 15. :|

Overlord99
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 4:31 am

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby Overlord99 » Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:28 pm

Cubby Crazes wrote:Yeah, I kinda knew that. It sounds horrible if it isn't on 15. :|

It's the best you're going to get, unfortunately. You could speed each sample up so you can fit more in the one-second limit, and use a W0C effect to slow them down again to make them seem longer, but that can be a bit of a hassle and it sounds pretty bad.

EDIT: I didn't read mudweed's response thoroughly before posting this and now I realize I just repeated him fuk

User avatar
rainwarrior
Forum Staff
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:23 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby rainwarrior » Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:21 am

If you're making an NES game, why not write your own DPCM stuff and just not use Famitracker to play samples? Should be a relatively small amount of code.

(Or alternatively if it's not an NES game why is it an issue at all?)

User avatar
MiniMacro
Posts: 932
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Trapped in a 2A03

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby MiniMacro » Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:12 am

You could make some spoken words to be used multiple times.
E. G.
"He's taking the crystal!"
Next cutscene:
"The crystal has been stolen. All guards report to bunkers immediately."
In this case, "crystal" is shared between the two, so it can be an individual sample.
wow this is total BS
mmsound.bandcamp.com
you can see my beautiful music there~

User avatar
PostApocolyptica
Posts: 218
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 4:48 pm
Location: England, United Kingom
Contact:

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby PostApocolyptica » Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:27 am

MiniMacro wrote:You could make some spoken words to be used multiple times.
E. G.
"He's taking the crystal!"
Next cutscene:
"The crystal has been stolen. All guards report to bunkers immediately."
In this case, "crystal" is shared between the two, so it can be an individual sample.

I don't think the inflection would be the same.

Most cutscenes from that era just had a short sound that occured when a letter appeared on-screen. It's something that's carried over in games today. DPCM voice was large, expensive and never sounded that good.
Sarumi is best ship; confirmed and manifested.

YouTube
Twitter
SoundCloud

User avatar
MiniMacro
Posts: 932
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Trapped in a 2A03

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby MiniMacro » Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:45 pm

Good point. However, if you are going that route, don't make it annoying. I'd suggest a short noise channel blip (for lack of a better word).
wow this is total BS
mmsound.bandcamp.com
you can see my beautiful music there~

User avatar
Sky Yoshi
Posts: 985
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:09 am
Location: Japan Osaka (。-`ω-)
Contact:

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby Sky Yoshi » Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:48 pm

YOu should speed up the speaking on some auditing tool and make the pitch down on FT.
That will make that easier...
Like...
Puic thusign goget strips.ftm
Made with 0.5.0 Beta 5 build
(33.47 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
I'm Sky Yoshi and I'm a Japanese Tracker.
I am back from 5 months of absent!
Check out my Links to see what I do!
Do you wanna be pointless? Click here!

User avatar
drdevil
Posts: 236
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Postby drdevil » Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:50 pm

Sky Yoshi, it has already been mentioned that the quality lowers if this is done.