Page 1 of 2

only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:56 am
by Cubby Crazes
:? :? :? i am making a game that has alot of talking in the cutscenes and i kinda need 2 more DMCs, then I am done.:lol: :roll:

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:46 am
by TheMudkipMaster12
Why are you using DPCM samples for cut scene dialogue
Yeah, FT supports 64 DPCM samples. If you need more space, try lowering the quality (pitch and speed) for the samples to be longer, but sound a little bit worse.

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:19 pm
by Cubby Crazes
Yeah, I kinda knew that. It sounds horrible if it isn't on 15. :|

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sun Jan 17, 2016 6:28 pm
by Overlord99
Cubby Crazes wrote:Yeah, I kinda knew that. It sounds horrible if it isn't on 15. :|

It's the best you're going to get, unfortunately. You could speed each sample up so you can fit more in the one-second limit, and use a W0C effect to slow them down again to make them seem longer, but that can be a bit of a hassle and it sounds pretty bad.

EDIT: I didn't read mudweed's response thoroughly before posting this and now I realize I just repeated him fuk

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 8:21 am
by rainwarrior
If you're making an NES game, why not write your own DPCM stuff and just not use Famitracker to play samples? Should be a relatively small amount of code.

(Or alternatively if it's not an NES game why is it an issue at all?)

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:12 am
by MiniMacro
You could make some spoken words to be used multiple times.
E. G.
"He's taking the crystal!"
Next cutscene:
"The crystal has been stolen. All guards report to bunkers immediately."
In this case, "crystal" is shared between the two, so it can be an individual sample.

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:27 am
by PostApocolyptica
MiniMacro wrote:You could make some spoken words to be used multiple times.
E. G.
"He's taking the crystal!"
Next cutscene:
"The crystal has been stolen. All guards report to bunkers immediately."
In this case, "crystal" is shared between the two, so it can be an individual sample.

I don't think the inflection would be the same.

Most cutscenes from that era just had a short sound that occured when a letter appeared on-screen. It's something that's carried over in games today. DPCM voice was large, expensive and never sounded that good.

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:45 pm
by MiniMacro
Good point. However, if you are going that route, don't make it annoying. I'd suggest a short noise channel blip (for lack of a better word).

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:48 pm
by Sky Yoshi
YOu should speed up the speaking on some auditing tool and make the pitch down on FT.
That will make that easier...
Like...
Puic thusign goget strips.ftm
Made with 0.5.0 Beta 5 build
(33.47 KiB) Downloaded 40 times

Re: only 63 DMCs allowed?

Posted: Sat Jan 23, 2016 12:50 pm
by drdevil
Sky Yoshi, it has already been mentioned that the quality lowers if this is done.