Page 3 of 30

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 11:45 am
by HertzDevil
This is the correct behaviour for the VRC6 sawtooth.

Anyway, in previous versions the instrument sequence editor shows the current cursor position and the value of that term, as in:
Image
Where did the {5, 6} go in the beta?

Sequences of size 253 do not work properly in exported NSFs since FamiTracker 0.4.0 when the arpeggio modes were introduced; indirect indexing fails at the last byte of the sequence so the last term is always 0xFD. FamiTracker should remove the 253rd term from all sequences when loading a FTM file.

EDIT: The effect state for Qxy and Rxy should use (m_iPortaSpeed >> 1), m_iNote instead of m_iPortaSpeed, m_iPortaTo.

The absolute pitch sequence overrides the fixed arpeggio sequence. In other words, the fixed part no longer needs to begin at the first frame of the instrument, as shown in the attached FTM. I do not know if this is an intended behaviour, since the pitch offset should be applied after acquiring the fixed note; otherwise the fixed arpeggio sequence should use a special constant like -1 to indicate that the instrument uses the current note from the pattern data (so every fixed sequence of the form {x} becomes equivalent to {x | -1}).

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 12:48 pm
by 8BitZtunerYT
Is it normal that the instant meter does not work with the chips 5B and VRC7?
When the default mode (slow) is activated, the meters work fine, but when set to fast, they stay blank.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 3:14 pm
by ollaxe
HertzDevil wrote:This is the correct behaviour for the VRC6 sawtooth.


Oh, okay, I didn't know that... Thanks! :)

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 5:18 pm
by womo
Wow this is damn good! I only make a small suggestion, could you make all the single-selectable menu to a radio button menu instead of a checkmark menu? There are still many left.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 8:29 pm
by HertzDevil
The period registers of the 5B channels should be 1 greater than actual value to match the frequency formula of the 2A03 / MMC5 / VRC6 channels (which increment the period by 1 before performing the clock division).

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 8:44 pm
by BioMechanicalDude
Tried running the build on Windows XP and it gave me a "This is not a valid Win32 application" error. Does that mean WinXP and other 32-bit versions of Windows will not be supported, or is this just because it's a beta and you will add Win32 implementation later?

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 9:19 pm
by Vinyl Scratch
Another problem nobody seems to have pointed out yet: Right-clicking the icon on the taskbar does nothing (at least in Windows 7). In previous versions, it would bring up a small window where you could close the application, pin it to the taskbar, open recent modules, etc.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 9:25 pm
by 8BitZtunerYT
BioMechanicalDude wrote:Tried running the build on Windows XP and it gave me a "This is not a valid Win32 application" error. Does that mean WinXP and other 32-bit versions of Windows will not be supported, or is this just because it's a beta and you will add Win32 implementation later?

FamiTracker was always Win32 and will be, I use my parents pc with 32-Bit Windows 7 installed and it runs fine.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 10:30 pm
by BioMechanicalDude
FamiTracker was always Win32 and will be, I use my parents pc with 32-Bit Windows 7 installed and it runs fine.


Well now at I least know it's 32-bit. I still wonder, though, why it doesn't work on WinXP? And, yes, I know a good solution would be to upgrade to Windows 7, but unfortunately I don't have enough RAM to run it well enough. :( Besides, a lot of people still use XP, so it would be nice, if someone can figure out what's wrong. Thanks.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Sun May 24, 2015 11:23 pm
by 8BitZtunerYT
I will test it for you in a VM if it works or not, if it doesn't then it's officially a bug I guess.