Page 4 of 30

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:33 am
by recme
while messing around with the 64 steps in vrc6, i found out that when you make the volume above 16 in 64 steps mode, and then changing it back to 16 steps, the instrument totally ignores the volume columns. i only tried this out with the pulses, so i dont know if this is also a problem with sawtooth.

also, im not so sure if this was intentional, but when lowering the volume in a vrc6 pulse channel, you hear a popping sound. if this was intentional, is there a way around it?

here are the examples of the two problems.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:50 am
by HertzDevil
Screenshot of launching 0.5.0 beta 2 in a Windows XP virtual machine.

The instrument does not ignore the volume column. On row 0x10 of frame 01 you could still hear the fade-in, and the volume stays at 14 instead of 15, showing that volume mixing still occurs; this is the same behaviour as using Exx to amplify the channel volume of the 2A03 pulses. Although the tracker uses a floored division to obtain the mixed volume, so that volume sequence values above 15 work "as intended", exported NSFs use a 16 × 16 lookup table instead of calculating the volume (except the FDS channel, which uses a division routine similar but not exactly identical to floor division), and the sequence terms greater than 15 discard the high nybble before mixing with the channel volume, rather than clipping at 15.

The popping sound is always there; it is clearly not exclusive to 0.5.0, and probably arises naturally when pulse waves of low frequencies are updated.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:56 am
by womo
8BitZtunerYT wrote:I will test it for you in a VM if it works or not, if it doesn't then it's officially a bug I guess.
He compiled the source code with a too new compiler. Visual Studio above 2012 doesn't support XP in default.

Code: Select all

000bfd80h: A0 55 46 00 4D D7 46 00 6F D7 46 00 00 00 00 00 ; 燯F.M譌.o譌.....
000bfd90h: 43 3A 5C 50 72 6F 67 72 61 6D 20 46 69 6C 65 73 ; C:\Program Files
000bfda0h: 20 28 78 38 36 29 5C 4D 69 63 72 6F 73 6F 66 74 ;  (x86)\Microsoft
000bfdb0h: 20 56 69 73 75 61 6C 20 53 74 75 64 69 6F 20 31 ;  Visual Studio 1
000bfdc0h: 32 2E 30 5C 56 43 5C 61 74 6C 6D 66 63 5C 69 6E ; 2.0\VC\atlmfc\in
000bfdd0h: 63 6C 75 64 65 5C 61 66 78 77 69 6E 31 2E 69 6E ; clude\afxwin1.in
000bfde0h: 6C 00 00 00 45 78 63 65 70 74 69 6F 6E 20 74 68 ; l...Exception th

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 12:59 pm
by BioMechanicalDude
He compiled the source code with a too new compiler. Visual Studio above 2012 doesn't support XP in default.


I see. Well, then, I ask jsr(if he reads this): If you still have some older compiler, can you make another edition of this version with it? I don't think exporting and recompiling the source code would take long (unless the graphic design of the program completely relies on Visual Studio 12). If you don't still have an older version, maybe ask someone trustworthy to compile it for you? I'm sure I'm not the only person with XP and others would benefit as well.
Thanks again.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 1:09 pm
by HertzDevil
Does not need one, VS2013 (actually VS2012 Update 4) still supports Windows XP. Not sure about VS2015.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 3:40 pm
by womo
HertzDevil wrote:Does not need one, VS2013 (actually VS2012 Update 4) still supports Windows XP. Not sure about VS2015.
Famitracker 0.46 currently uses Visual Studio 2008, wouldn't it acturally change to 2012 in all the future releases?

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 6:40 pm
by jsr
BioMechanicalDude wrote:I see. Well, then, I ask jsr(if he reads this): If you still have some older compiler, can you make another edition of this version with it? I don't think exporting and recompiling the source code would take long (unless the graphic design of the program completely relies on Visual Studio 12). If you don't still have an older version, maybe ask someone trustworthy to compile it for you? I'm sure I'm not the only person with XP and others would benefit as well.
Thanks again.

Yeah I've changed compiler. I will turn on support for XP again, I don't use that anymore so I was unaware it didn't work.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Mon May 25, 2015 7:38 pm
by BioMechanicalDude
jsr wrote:
Yeah I've changed compiler. I will turn on support for XP again, I don't use that anymore so I was unaware it didn't work.


Thanks! I really appreciate it! I'm sure others will too. :)

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 8:36 pm
by ImATrackMan
Could you add support for enabling the ENV in the noise/mode macro somehow? Don't care how it's implemented, as long as it's there it would be fine, I'm too used to having it in AY/YM instrument editors and having to control it all manually is a pain in the ass. (also, creating instruments with one frame of noise, a couple of ENV frames, and then tone would be much easier)

It would also be good to have Wxx repitch noise regardless of whether V02 is used or if the instrument has a predefined pitch, having it globally control noise pitch (basically working like DPCM Wxx).

EDIT: Also, the 5B seems to be using the same volume "scheme" as the rest of the channels. Seeing as it's a logarithmic chip, it'd probably be best to have things like the volume column and Axx affect volume in a subtractive manner rather than a miltuplicative one.

Re: Version 0.5 preview

Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 10:48 pm
by za909
I think there's a value you can enter in the MML field, but it might just be for switching the channel to constant signal mode.