FT's play function not working

General discussion about tracking, help and support.
User avatar
littlelamp100
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:34 am
Location: USA
Contact:

FT's play function not working

Postby littlelamp100 » Sat Jun 06, 2015 5:56 pm

I open famitracker and notice that the waveform viewer is blank. I open an ftm, press enter, and nothing happens. I press the play button at the top. Nothing. I switch to the famitracker logo on the waveform viewer and repeat. Nothing. whatishappening

User avatar
Shywolf
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:41 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: FT's play function not working

Postby Shywolf » Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:00 pm

Sounds like FT couldn't initialize the sound driver. A PC reboot should clear it up.

User avatar
m9m
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:27 pm

Re: FT's play function not working

Postby m9m » Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:05 pm

Did you try increasing (or decreasing) the buffer length (aka this setting)? I had the same exact problem a while ago, and just messing with this setting helped.

User avatar
littlelamp100
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:34 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: FT's play function not working

Postby littlelamp100 » Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:13 pm

Rebooted my computer, still nothing.
Also I forgot to mention, if I try playing a note with an instrument selected...
NOTHING
maybe the sound driver broke

User avatar
Shywolf
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:41 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: FT's play function not working

Postby Shywolf » Sat Jun 06, 2015 6:16 pm

Hmm. Is the Device under Configuration>Sound tab set to anything other than "Primary Sound Driver"?

User avatar
ollaxe
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:07 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: FT's play function not working

Postby ollaxe » Sat Jun 06, 2015 8:57 pm

I'm kind of a little bit of an computer expert, so I know some things you could try:

1. See if audio works in other applications.
2. Do as Shywolf said: Go to Contol panel > Hardware and audio > Audio and play around with the different audio devices there and see if it helps.
3. Go to Contol panel > Hardware and audio > Device manager and see if there are any errors with your soundcard driver.
4. If you know how to do it, try reinstalling the drivers (if the soundcard is built into your motherboard and they don't use two separate drivers, you'll most likely want to reinstall the motherboard drivers). You can most likely find them at the manufacturer's website. Do NOT use windows' automatic driver-finder and installer, because it might install the wrong driver.

You can skip the following steps if audio in other applications did work, if you have a portable computer or if your computer's soundcard is built into the motherboard.

5. Check the connection between the motherboard and the soundcard inside your computer.
6. Test the soundcard in another computer and see if you can get it to work there.

I hope these tips helped you! Good luck! :)
Last edited by ollaxe on Mon Jun 08, 2015 12:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hi! I'm not really active here anymore but I still make music. Nowadays I mostly make dubstep with emphasis on good melodies and chord progressions.
SoundCloud: soundcloud.com/ollaxe
Twitter: twitter.com/ollaxe
Discord server: dis.gd/tK7uRnc
I'm also on Spotify. Search "OllAxe" and you'll find me.

User avatar
littlelamp100
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:34 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: FT's play function not working

Postby littlelamp100 » Sun Jun 07, 2015 12:08 am

Threxx fixed it w/teamview
All he did was open up the sound settings for my computer
He literally changed nothing
And it worked
likewhat
Thanks anyway guys, I appreciate it


Return to “General Talk”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest