Is it generally acceptable to use other people's instrument patches?

General discussion about tracking, help and support.
Pencildragon

Is it generally acceptable to use other people's instrument patches?

Postby Pencildragon » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:21 am

I feel silly asking this, but I couldn't find an answer anywhere and don't want to step on any toes. This excludes DPCM and N163 instruments, since samples can be and very much are copyrighted from a lot of sources.

But do people generally use other people's instruments? After all, they can mostly be expressed as a set of numbers you could just copy and paste into the instrument editor. I'm no expert with the instrument editor yet, but I've stumbled across quite a few fti files(mostly from the old forums, I didn't even know this one existed for awhile!) I'd be interested in using. It'd just make my life a lot easier until I get better at using the instrument editor lol.

Overlord99

Re: Is it generally acceptable to use other people's instrument patches?

Postby Overlord99 » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:53 am

I don't see why it would be an issue, as long as you gave credit to the person from whom you got the instrument.

sirocyl

Postby sirocyl » Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:58 am

It's hard to say.
As far as DPCM, FDS and N163 instruments, some are pretty common and simple in their implementation, such as a triangle, sawtooth, sine/powersine, or a sample from a more capable common digital instrument like a SID or an ADLIB.
More complex samples are often hand-tuned and very well-adapted to the song they're in, and copying them won't just be bad form, but it could make your work sound worse than if you make the instrument yourself.

For pulse, triangle and noise instruments, it's a little more complicated, but boils down to "Is this something a lot of people have done or would do?"
If there's a lot of parameters and a certain technique to how it's put together, then it shouldn't be copied.