Low quality sound with lag.

Please post about bugs here.
Forum rules
When making a bug report, please try to be as specific as possible. Include information on how to reproduce the bug and an example file if possible.
If the application crashed, please include the generated memory dump file as well.
GWT

Low quality sound with lag.

Postby GWT » Sat Nov 21, 2015 11:15 pm

I'm rather new to FamiTracker but it seems like I'm having some issues with the sound. The sound quality doesn't sound very good and there seems to be a delay between a not being played and sound being outputted. I tried increasing the buffer size but it wasn't working even at 500ms, in fact I got an error message saying to increase the sound buffer even when I set it to the maximum. The problem seems to persist regardless of what I set the sound buffer to. I'm running v0.4.6 on Windows 7 64bit.

ollaxe

Re: Low quality sound with lag.

Postby ollaxe » Sun Nov 22, 2015 12:29 am

Your computer must be kinda old, right? I have an old notebook from 2010 that has a hard time handling famitracker unless I don't multitask at all, even at the lowest settings.

My way of fixing this was to hook up this external sound card my dad had lying around (one of those small boxes that you can use for recording stuff, you know) and its performance now matchers my newbuilt stationery PC (audio at least, the rest is far behind hehe).
Hi! I'm not really active here anymore but I still make music. Nowadays I mostly make dubstep with emphasis on good melodies and chord progressions.
SoundCloud: soundcloud.com/ollaxe
Twitter: twitter.com/ollaxe
Discord server: dis.gd/tK7uRnc
I'm also on Spotify. Search "OllAxe" and you'll find me.

GWT

Postby GWT » Sun Nov 22, 2015 1:06 am

ollaxe wrote:Your computer must be kinda old, right? I have an old notebook from 2010 that has a hard time handling famitracker unless I don't multitask at all, even at the lowest settings.