Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Post about feature requests here.
User avatar
epic1sound
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:31 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby epic1sound » Sat May 28, 2016 3:15 am

Not sure if it has been suggested, or if it's possible...

Could a .WAV export have a built in fade out i.e. 10, 7, 5 seconds as defined by the user? This would only be when choosing the option to export it to a specific time, NOT when looping it a set number of times.
Famitracker on a Mac... It's possible because I do it.

Andy P. Scott
epic1
SoundCloud
YouTube

Roflo
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 3:51 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby Roflo » Sat May 28, 2016 9:13 am

Get a audio editor like wavepad or audacity and edit it like you wish to have it.

User avatar
epic1sound
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:31 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby epic1sound » Sat May 28, 2016 4:53 pm

Roflo wrote:Get a audio editor like wavepad or audacity and edit it like you wish to have it.


Oh yeah, I have Logic but I was just suggesting if it was possible to do as an add on. I suppose I could have it run through twice and then skip to a fade out frame. Is there a way to tell FT to loop twice and THEN go to another frame that would fade i.e. a coda of sorts?
Famitracker on a Mac... It's possible because I do it.

Andy P. Scott
epic1
SoundCloud
YouTube

Roflo
Posts: 292
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 3:51 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby Roflo » Sat May 28, 2016 6:13 pm

Unfortunately not. There were some suggestions on implementing this as effects, but somehow this didn't get far.

User avatar
ZeroJanitor
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2015 5:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby ZeroJanitor » Sat May 28, 2016 7:36 pm

That's a bummer. I've wanted an "Export x number of frames" function since forever.

User avatar
Stratelier
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby Stratelier » Sun May 29, 2016 3:12 am

As a clickable export option? Totally, if FT could do that it as part of the export process it would save the extra step of needing to boot up Audacity (et al.) to do it for you.

User avatar
jaxcheese
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 3:24 am
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby jaxcheese » Sun May 29, 2016 5:07 pm

I see some implementation dilemmas here. Would it only fade out in 16-step volume increments? Would the triangle channel not fade out at all? Or would it forego accurate emulation and linearly fade everything?
Fan of:
Cave Story, Mega Man X, MOTHER 3, Star Fox 64, Super Metroid, Shining Force.
Classic SEGA, Treasure, Square, Falcom.
Various roguelike RPGs and shmups/bullet hells.
jaxcheese.bandcamp.com

User avatar
epic1sound
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:31 pm
Location: Nashville, TN
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby epic1sound » Sun May 29, 2016 5:12 pm

jaxcheese wrote:I see some implementation dilemmas here. Would it only fade out in 16-step volume increments? Would the triangle channel not fade out at all? Or would it forego accurate emulation and linearly fade everything?


I think it would have to forego accurate emulation in this case. Essentially, what we're doing if we use a DAW to fade it anyway.
Famitracker on a Mac... It's possible because I do it.

Andy P. Scott
epic1
SoundCloud
YouTube

User avatar
HertzDevil
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:39 pm
Location: Hong Kong SAR
Contact:

Re: Fade Out when Exporting as .WAV

Postby HertzDevil » Sun May 29, 2016 6:58 pm

epic1sound wrote:Essentially, what we're doing if we use a DAW to fade it anyway.

Then just use a DAW to fade it anyway. What is the point?

Personally I do not think FamiTracker should not give undue weight to functions that can be done independently of the tracker; however, the 0.5.0 betas have a disabled checkbox on the WAV export dialog saying "Normalize audio", which obviously necessitates a second pass of all samples after the rendering pass, so implementing that would give a valid reason to do a fade-out option as well.
Constructing Chiptune; Construing 8-Bit. Makes 0CC-FamiTracker and MEGA ZUN.

Join my forum for 0CC-FamiTracker discussion and more


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest