DPCM Arpeggios

Post about feature requests here.
User avatar
BioMechanicalDude
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Bulgaria
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

DPCM Arpeggios

Postby BioMechanicalDude » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:14 pm

Is it too late to suggest new features for version 0.5? Well, I'll give that a shot, anyway.
I think it'd be useful if you could apply arpeggios to the DPCM channel, both from the instrument editor and the tracker. Now, I know, the DPCM channel is probably the last place, where you would use arpeggios, but at some point you might either try that or some other kind of effect, that needs rapid note(or in this case sample) switching. The only way to do it at the moment, is to make the song at a really high speed and you'd also have to input a lot of notes. And no, don't tell me "Why don't you just make a sample of the arpeggio or whatever effect you're trying to make?"
First of all, it would take up a lot of space, because you'll need a sample for every note(not to mention, samples will have a larger file-size, because of their length). Yeah, Famitracker has 256KB for DPCM samples, which is nice and all, but when you're trying to make music that could, at least theoretically, play on an actual NES and, therefore limit yourself to the original 16KB limit, this is not a good option. Even if they don't take up too much space, the arpeggios will be slowed down, when playing at lower pitches.
So, if it is possible, can Famitracker have such a feature in future versions? I'm sure it would be useful to a lot of people and make it easier to experiment with the DPCM channel.

Thanks.
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my .
You can also follow me on .

User avatar
jaxcheese
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 3:24 am
Contact:

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby jaxcheese » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:27 pm

Perhaps a "sample envelope" option could handle that, although triggering multiple samples from one note event would be an entirely new functionality for famitracker.
Fan of:
Cave Story, Mega Man X, MOTHER 3, Star Fox 64, Super Metroid, Shining Force.
Classic SEGA, Treasure, Square, Falcom.
Various roguelike RPGs and shmups/bullet hells.
jaxcheese.bandcamp.com

User avatar
Dr. Merio
Posts: 680
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:25 pm
Location: On your screen
Contact:

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby Dr. Merio » Mon Oct 19, 2015 6:27 pm

This is more suited for the Feature requests section so I've moved it there. :P
My current avatar is why we need bigger avatars.


User avatar
BioMechanicalDude
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Bulgaria
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby BioMechanicalDude » Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:10 pm

Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my .
You can also follow me on .

User avatar
HertzDevil
Posts: 475
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:39 pm
Location: Hong Kong SAR
Contact:

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby HertzDevil » Tue Oct 20, 2015 3:22 pm

refactoring

User avatar
w7n
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri May 15, 2015 1:37 am
Location: Nanamori-Chuu
Contact:

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby w7n » Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:50 am

My 2 cents:
1, this feature is acceptable but not as useful as some other features.
2, judging from the developing state of the official FamiTracker, I'd suggest that you just cover everything in speed 1 to gain full control of all the notes. Tracking in speed 1 isn't as frustrating as it may seem, by the way.
under reconstruction, better player might be available in the future.

VRC6 PWM is GAY because it has colours of the rainbow in the NSFPlay keyboard visualizer.

User avatar
BioMechanicalDude
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Bulgaria
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby BioMechanicalDude » Wed Oct 21, 2015 7:10 pm

Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my .
You can also follow me on .

User avatar
ollaxe
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:07 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby ollaxe » Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:48 pm

Two tips when tracking in speed one:
1. Use the row highlight feature. This is great for keeping track of where you are in the song.
2. Try to use the most high-resolution screen as possible. This will give you a greater view in the sequence editor. If you don't have a high-res monitor, you could use an HDTV as long as your computer is somewhat portable and your eventual roommate(s)/family members are okay with it.

Now, if you're still not going to track in speed one, track in speed 2! Arpeggios still sound great at that speed, and everything is much easier to keep track of. The bad thing with this though is that you're quite limited in terms of which tempo's you can use.

Now, I still agree that this should be a feature, but these are a bunch of workarounds which you can use for the time being. One thing I'm kinda troubled about though is, wouldn't there be a ton of popping noises? :?
Hi! I'm not really active here anymore but I still make music. Nowadays I mostly make dubstep with emphasis on good melodies and chord progressions.
SoundCloud:
Twitter:
Discord server:
I'm also on Spotify. Search "OllAxe" and you'll find me.

User avatar
BioMechanicalDude
Posts: 309
Joined: Sun May 24, 2015 2:54 pm
Location: Bulgaria
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby BioMechanicalDude » Thu Oct 22, 2015 7:58 pm

Not when I tried it, using the usual method. So I guess as long as you don't reset the delta counter manually, you'll be fine.
By the way, wasn't there a zoom in/zoom out feature? I'm probably remembering it wrong. My screen resolution is 1280x1024. It's not full HD, but close enough(at least in terms of vertical resolution), and I'm still not satisfied with the row size. :|
Greetings! I'm That Bio Mechanical Dude and I like creating various stuff like movies, games and of course chiptunes!
You can check out my .
You can also follow me on .

User avatar
ollaxe
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 7:07 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: DPCM Arpeggios

Postby ollaxe » Thu Oct 22, 2015 8:29 pm

Hi! I'm not really active here anymore but I still make music. Nowadays I mostly make dubstep with emphasis on good melodies and chord progressions.
SoundCloud:
Twitter:
Discord server:
I'm also on Spotify. Search "OllAxe" and you'll find me.


[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1107: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests