"Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Post about feature requests here.
Threxx
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby Threxx » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:29 pm

MiniMacro wrote:Making DPCM tom instruments, The Immortal sawtooth DPCM wave, DPCM triangle/pulse wave, orchestra hits, etc.


ONCE AGAIN

DPCM PITCHING IS NON-CHROMATIC

THERE IS NO USE FOR THIS FUNCTION

User avatar
MiniMacro
Posts: 932
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Trapped in a 2A03

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby MiniMacro » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:41 pm

Several games used pitched DPCM samples.
But this suggested feature just puts the sample on all the slots in an octave. I don't know why that wouldn't be useful.
I've seen some songs made in FT that use a full set of pitched DPCM toms.
Attachments
American Gladiators - Track 1.ftm
(8.52 KiB) Downloaded 45 times
Batman - Track 4.ftm
(178.15 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
wow this is total BS
mmsound.bandcamp.com
you can see my beautiful music there~

User avatar
James_S
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 12:37 am
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby James_S » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:44 pm

jesus christ smallbig stop making stuff up to defend your idea, as threxx has stated many, many times dpcm is non chromatic and does not correspond to the notes played at all.
AKA FamicomForever
click for BEPIS!!!!

User avatar
MiniMacro
Posts: 932
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Trapped in a 2A03

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby MiniMacro » Wed Aug 12, 2015 2:47 pm

I know that DPCM is not chromatic.
wow this is total BS
mmsound.bandcamp.com
you can see my beautiful music there~

User avatar
jaxcheese
Posts: 199
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 3:24 am
Contact:

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby jaxcheese » Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:51 pm

I think what he's trying to say is that the same sample at the same pitch would be applied to every note on the octave - simply for the purpose of not having to search for the key it was assigned to? Correct me if I interpreted that wrong, but it seems like something like that would just result in disorganization, and you could already set it up that way yourself fairly easily if you really wanted it that way.
Fan of:
Cave Story, Mega Man X, MOTHER 3, Star Fox 64, Super Metroid, Shining Force.
Classic SEGA, Treasure, Square, Falcom.
Various roguelike RPGs and shmups/bullet hells.
jaxcheese.bandcamp.com

User avatar
MiniMacro
Posts: 932
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Trapped in a 2A03

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby MiniMacro » Wed Aug 12, 2015 4:04 pm

Yes, jaxcheese, that's what I've been trying to say.
wow this is total BS
mmsound.bandcamp.com
you can see my beautiful music there~

User avatar
Stratelier
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby Stratelier » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:13 pm

Threxx wrote:Regardless, I still fail to see how this feature has any merit.

I thought he meant having the DPCM playback rate scaled to whatever pitch it's assigned to, kinda like how the SNES handles its instrument patches. Then we wouldn't need separate DPCM patches for what is effectively the same sound, but that does feel beyond the limits of the NES hardware so it's out.

jaxcheese wrote:I think what he's trying to say is that the same sample at the same pitch would be applied to every note on the octave - simply for the purpose of not having to search for the key it was assigned to? Correct me if I interpreted that wrong, but it seems like something like that would just result in disorganization, and you could already set it up that way yourself fairly easily if you really wanted it that way.

Okay, this I could see, but then you're effectively limiting yourself to a total of 8 DPCM patches (one per octave) and that could be a larger problem.

As an alternative, maybe these could work:
- When you track a note on the DPCM channel, if there's no DPCM patch for what you input then highlight that note red and suggest an assigned DPCM note to 'snap' it to.
- Option to switch the DPCM channel between displaying notes chromatically (e.g. C-4) or not (48).

User avatar
MiniMacro
Posts: 932
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Trapped in a 2A03

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby MiniMacro » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:15 pm

Now, Stratelier, that could work.
wow this is total BS
mmsound.bandcamp.com
you can see my beautiful music there~

Threxx
Posts: 343
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 2:34 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby Threxx » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:25 pm

Alternatively you could not be a lazy fuck and just do it normally like everyone else

8BitZtunerYT
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2015 7:20 pm
Location: Somewhere stuck in Winamp

Re: "Apply to all slots" for DPCM

Postby 8BitZtunerYT » Wed Aug 12, 2015 5:26 pm

^ Please, listen to him.
slowly ceasing to exist.
"8BitZ caresses his keyboard as he orgasms to the sounds of Winamp."
-retrodpc, 2015


Return to “Feature Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest